16 Weeks

Hello!

I started this thing 2 years ago. Strangely enough, people actually read it. I’ve had people come up to me in public and ask me if I’m swolesister. Weird, but pretty cool. Sometimes i hear about other bloggers posting stuff that I’ve written or mentioning this blog. So, I decided maybe it’s time to update it again.

Friday marks 16 weeks away from my first national level figure competition. I have a lot of other stuff going on in my life, but I think I might be able to pull it off. We’ll see.

My approach this year is going to be a little different from last. My training is focused on strength and conditioning, rather than putting on size. Why? Because I’m already too big. I know it sounds obnoxious to those of you who struggle to gain muscle, but I don’t want to get any bigger. I’ve already been referred to as “that huge girl” enough times that any more muscle is liable to put me into the physique class, which isn’t the aesthetic I’m shooting for. Also, doing conditioning work is way more fun than a bajillion sets of raises. And it takes less time, which is something I have in short supply these days.

Diet is going to be along the same lines as last season. No crazy stuff. Plenty of carbs. As few supplements as possible.

I’ve had a busy offseason. I’ve taken a week or two off here and there, but for the most part I’m still in the gym at least 4 days a week. I’ve put on a few pounds of course, but nothing absurd. I feel like I am starting with a better canvas this year than last year, and that’s really all I can ask for.

I’m going to try my best to update once a week. Mostly, I’ll be posting videos of my training. Maybe some food pictures. Let me know what y’all want to see, or what you want me to talk about.  I’m horrible at figuring out what to talk about on these things, so please feel free to make suggestions. Thanks, and welcome back to the party.

Image

7 thoughts on “16 Weeks

  1. Nice!! Good luck in your competition, for what it’s worth I think you’ll do well. I love your no-nonsense approach based in reality, and that you take full responsibility working towards your goals.

    Looking forward to your weekly posts, whatever they contain; training and recipes are always interesting reads. Links and comments on anything particularly ‘readworthy’ you come across online could also be interesting- whether it’s scientific studies, other blogs, whatever.

    All the best,
    Jen

  2. So glad you’re back! The day before this post I went to your site to see if I missed something because it had been a while. I like that you write in the first person and you are straightforward. You write about what works for you and it will work for me if I apply it. You make great videos. I would like to see, or read, how you manage your meal prep. Whatever you post, thanks for sharing your journey!

  3. Heya! I’d like to hear about the kinds of things you’re eating and your conditioning. I’m trying to cut back myself (not for a show, but for 63 kgs!) but very few are blogging about leaning out with strength training. I recall you getting stronger in prep for your last show and was hoping to do the same 🙂

Leave a Reply

